Who We Are

We are a core team of approximately 50 people based in Sacramento, San Francisco, Los Angeles, and Montana, with additional offices across the West. Each year, we work closely with hundreds of grantee organizations and consultants.

The broad and deep experience, expertise, and connections of our team, integrated with comprehensive grant making capacity, consistently deliver significant and durable results. RLF leaders and staff mastered environmental policy making, law, lobbying, and on-the-ground resource protection before joining the organization. We do not shy from complexity. We oversee expert consultants with a practitioner’s eye.


Michael Mantell
Mary Scoonover
Executive Vice President
Peter Teague
Vice President

Program Staff

Ben Alexander
Senior Program Advisor
Matthew Armsby
Program Officer/Attorney
Marie Armstrong
Donor Services Program Coordinator
Kathrine Beale
Operations and Technology Assistant
Rosina Bugarin
Director of Finance
Corey Brown
Program Officer/Attorney
Sydney Carrillo
Program Coordinator
Pamela Chambers
Executive Assistant
Wendy Chenkovich
Program Coordinator
Helena Choi
Senior Policy Advisor
Felecia Coles
Director of Human Resources
Chloé Cooper
Office Services Assistant
Michelle Cruz
Donor Services Program Manager
Gaea Dennis
Finance Manager
Christina Evola
Kaitilin Gaffney
Director/Attorney, Ocean, Coast, and Fisheries
Saúl Acosta Gómez
Program Officer
Alfredo Gonzalez
Program Officer
Jocelyn Garovoy Herbert
Program Officer/Attorney
Lisbeth Jakobsen
Director of Donor Services
Mark Kleinman
Communications Officer
Letise LaFeir
Program Officer
Sarah Liebman
Program Coordinator
Deborah Frey Love
Senior Program Advisor
Karina Lozano
Program Coordinator
Lana Lucas
Program Finance Manager
Julie Martin
Director of Operations
Ingrid Mayer
Donor Services Finance Analyst
Peggy McNutt
Program Officer
Eric Melson
Program Manager
Liz Parissenti
Program Manager
Annie Peletta
Program Coordinator
Merswind Reyer
Jenn Sanderson
Executive Assistant
Cressida Sasse
Human Resources Manager
Michael Scott
Senior Policy Advisor
Miriam Torres
Program Manager
Julie Turrini
Director/Attorney, Lands, Rivers, and Communities
Rebecca Valdez
Program Coordinator
Nancy Vogel
Director of Communications
Marietha Waller
Nancy White
Accounting Specialist

Key Consultants

Sybil Ackerman-Munson
Ed Hastey
Steven Malloch
Michael Weber

Board Members

Barton H Thompson Jr
Jeanne Sedgwick
Vice Chair
Edward W Barnholt
Steven Gaines
Patsy Ishiyama
Katharine Jacobs
Charlene Kabcenell
Martha Kongsgaard
Michael Mantell
Randall Martinez
Craig McNamara
Mark Wan