Our Team

We are based in California, Montana, Hawai’i, and Washington, DC, with additional staff who work on fiscally sponsored projects that span the globe.

Our team has expertise in environmental policymaking, law, campaigns, constituency building, finance and administration, and on-the-ground project implementation. We strive for excellence, prioritizing creativity and high standards of quality in everything we do, with a reputation for consistently delivering significant and enduring results.

Our board of directors consists of 15 distinguished leaders who bring a wealth of experience and diverse perspective to the strategic direction and financial health of the organization.



Avi Garbow
Matt Armsby
Vice President
Rosina Bugarin
Chief Financial Officer
Helena Choi
Vice President
Julie Martin
Vice President

Program Staff

Lauren Arcangelo
Finance Manager
Marie Armstrong
Senior Program Coordinator
Krista Batey
Director of Grants Management
Briana Bergstrom
Program Manager
Corey Brown
Senior Program Officer
Pamela Chambers
Executive Assistant
Wendy Chenkovich
Senior Program Coordinator
Felecia Coles
Director of Human Resources
Michelle Cruz
Program Manager
Andrea Sanchez Davidson
Program Manager
Anastasia Finney
Program Coordinator
Kaitilin Gaffney
Director, Ocean, Coast, and Fisheries
Jaymee Go
Policy Officer
Alfredo Gonzalez
Director, Southern California
Mara Guccione
Deputy Director of Fiscal Sponsorships
Christi Hanson
Accounting Specialist
Jocelyn Garovoy Herbert
Senior Program Officer
Lisbeth Jakobsen
Director, Fiscal Sponsorships
Steve Kallick
Director, International Conservation and Human Rights
Mark Kleinman
Senior Communications Officer
Elveena Kumar
Payroll and Benefits Manager
Sarah Liebman
Senior Program Coordinator
Deborah Frey Love
Director, Intermountain West
Karina Lozano
Senior Program Coordinator
Lana Lucas
Program Finance Manager
Katt Lundy
Program Coordinator
Isaac McCovey
Peggy McNutt
Senior Program Officer
Rocio Nieves
Program Coordinator
Stacey Olson
Program Manager
Jessica Osegueda
Human Resources and Payroll Specialist
Liz Parissenti
Program Officer
Annie Peletta
Operations Manager
Shiva Polefka
Program Officer
Ingrid Sanders
Program Manager
Cressida Sasse
Human Resources Manager
Michael Scott
Director, International Conservation and Public Lands
Shara Sparks
Program Officer
Laura Tam
Program Officer
Julie Turrini
Director, Lands, Rivers, and Communities
Rebecca Valdez
Senior Program Coordinator
Marietha Waller
Administrative Specialist
Adewole Williams
Program Coordinator
Stephanie Wolfe
Accounting Specialist
Niki Woodard
Senior Communications Officer

Key Consultants

Sybil Ackerman-Munson
Ed Hastey
(In Memoriam)
Steven Malloch
Michael Weber

Board Members

Barton H Thompson Jr
Jeanne Sedgwick
Vice Chair
Lise Aangeenbrug
Edward W Barnholt
Steven Gaines
Avi Garbow
Chet Hewitt
Patsy Ishiyama
Katharine Jacobs
Charlene Kabcenell
Martha Kongsgaard
Randall Martinez
Craig McNamara
Mark Wan
Kevin Washburn